The Curse of the Gloamglozer

Series: The Quint Saga
First published: Sep 03 2001
Followed by: The Winter Knights

The Curse of the Gloamglozer is the first book of the Quint saga — the first trilogy in the Edge Chronicles.

Fourteen-year-old Quint Verginix is the only remaining son of famous sky-pirate Wind Jackal. He and his father have journeyed to the city of Sanctaphrax — a great floating rock, anchored to the ground below by a chain, its inhabitants living with their heads literally in the clouds.

But the city hides a dangerous secret: deep inside the great rock, something horrible lurks. With his father away, Quint may be the only one who can save Sanctaphrax from the dreaded curse of the gloamglozer…

Buy the book
Buy the book


  • “Stunningly original ”


  • “For children who've read the Harry Potter books and want another world to explore”

    Mail on Sunday

  • “Wondrously inventive... A new variety of characters, beings, classic–like names and gravity–defying geography once again feeds detail and delight to an ever–increasingly ever–eager–for–the–next readership”

    School Librarian

  • “A book that is hard to put down”

    Through The Looking Glass

The Books

  • The Curse of the Gloamglozer
    The Quint Saga

  • The Winter Knights
    The Quint Saga

  • Clash of the Sky Galleons
    The Quint Saga

  • Beyond the Deepwoods
    The Twig Saga

  • Stormchaser
    The Twig Saga

  • Midnight Over Sanctaphrax
    The Twig Saga

  • The Last of the Sky Pirates
    The Rook Saga

  • Vox
    The Rook Saga

  • Freeglader
    The Rook Saga

  • The Immortals
    The Nate Saga

  • The Nameless One
    The Cade Saga

  • Doombringer
    The Cade Saga

  • The Descenders

View all books